Hay & Forage Forum banner
1 - 20 of 104 Posts

·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I am in my second year of baling and selling wheat straw in small squares (baled with JD336 twine tie). Last year I baled and put up 2500 bales the old school way (manually stacking onto the trailer and unloading in the barn). As all of you know, labor is hard to come by which drove me to purchasing a Rafter M accumulator (10 bale tie) and grapple with side shift and this year put up about 4000 bales. While this system effectively reduced the labor, and allowed me to do more myself, I still feel like it is not the best way for me to get the straw put up. I didnt go nearly as fast as I had hoped. Here are a few things I ran into with the accumulator:
  1. I could not pull it behind the baler because I am baling the wind row that the combine lays which requires two passes with the baler to pick up the straw. I cant rake it because the baler cant handle that amount of straw at once. So, the accumulator requires one man to run it. Not that big of a deal.
  2. Here in Louisiana we have to put water furrows in our fields to drain the water. This caused problems occasionally. The bales would sometimes hang the leading edge in the furrow and either flip over, flip up and raise the accumulator and create a mess, or tear the bale up. Big inconvienence.
  3. Frequently, the bales would just slide on the ground ( laying the stubble over like a mat) and would not have enough resistance to force thru the trip levers, so you would have to stop and manually trip the lever and put the bale in place. This was frustrating.
I am not knocking the accumulator. I think it would work flawlessly in hay with more density. This is just the nature of the beast with straw (I think).