Hay & Forage Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, my first post here.. been lurking for a while. I’m new to all of this so I’m learning on the fly. So I just purchased 30 acres early in the year. I would like to prepare it for hay production. I’m in north Texas just a little west of Greenville Texas. The land has been used for cattle for years I would guess, so it has been packed down and is full of weeds with some Bermuda in it. I plan on having someone come sprig the grass next year. My question is, should I disk the ground or should I plow it and disk it before I sprig it? I have a 60hp tractor so I am not sure if it’s enough to do this. I might have to find someone that has the equipment. I did spray it with dura core to help keep the weeds down but I think it’s pretty over run with weeds. That’s my plan. Just wondering if it’s in the right direction and if so should I plow or plow and disk? Thanks all

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
174 Posts
I'm going to be the dummy here....what the heck is "sprig"

I prep seeding grass fields by spraying roundup...fertilizing...discing...Harrow then seeding

About any tractor will pull equipment correctly sized to the machine...plow...disc...etc

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Instead of seeding they use a machine to come plant sprigs of Bermuda. I was told it’s called sprig or sprigging? Like I said I’m learning on the fly so I might have used the wrong term.

·
Hay Master
1,069 Posts
Welcome to HayTalk av8tr72. Glad you came out of hiding and joined in our conversations. And for both you and