Hay & Forage Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Gourmet Horse Hay Producer
3,143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been thinking a lot lately about reducing my operations to just what I need for my boarding op and selling several wagon loads of hay which qualifies me for the land use tax reduction program. My concerns are that my input costs are just too high to maintain the product that I have been selling for 30 years. However, the available options for other users are that all of them (the few that are available) would either go to crops (which I don't want), or would not put the inputs on that would maintain the fields in the condition that I have kept them in. Most do minimal fertilization and effectively run the ground down and do not do timely effective weed control. I have effectively banished mullein, thistle, multiflora rose, johnson grass and a hose of others. Still fighting with chickweed and speedwell.

So, I am considering fallowing the ground I don't need for hay each year, spraying the planned fallow ground in the prior October with grazon or duracor or chaparral if I have a speedwell issue, letting it go to seed the following season, clipping in late july to spread the seed and clipping again in October for fall cleanup. That way, i cut out my fertilizer input for the fallow year(s) and cut my overseeding cost to zero since it will reseed itself. Thinking that the fallow time is 2 years with fertilzation the following spring and harvest as normal. By fallowing rather than having someone else hay it, there is no mining of nutrients.

What am I not thinking about that I should be considering?

When clipping areas that have gone to seed, is it better to cut high with a flail discbine to spread seed or does that damage the seed too much? My other choice is a 10' bushhog, cutting high in one pass, then again at say 8" stubble height.

Any thoughts appreciated. r

·
Registered
33 Posts