Hay & Forage Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Need some help trying to figure out how to disassemble the overrunning clutch on a NH H7320 discbine.

I studied the parts diagram. I took out the item 25 and 26 nut/bolt and the whole clutch assembly pulled off the gearbox input shaft fine. Next I pulled out the Item 7 5/16 bolts holding the pto yoke to the slip clutch assembly (item 6). I was expecting the overruning clutch hubs (items 17, 20, and associated parts to come off with the slip clutch. They didn't. The slip clutch slipped off the outer overrunning clutch hub (item 17) easily. I got to what is shown in the photo below and got stumped.
Rectangle Font Auto part Drawing Illustration

Wood Motor vehicle Gas Electric blue Metal

So A is the pto yoke. B is the outer hub of the overrruning clutch (item 17). C is the inner hub of the overruning clutch (item 20). The notches in B are what engage with the slip clutch.
So B and C turn freely in both directions without turning A like they are supposed to with the slip clutch removed. B and C are locked together when they are supposed to turn freely in one direction and lock up in the other direction. My dilemma is how to get B/C apart from A so I can work on B/C. Nothing jumps out as obvious and the parts list gives no hints.

Anybody have any suggestions?

·
2,656 Posts
Look closely at the end of the hub “B” and you will see a snap ring. The snap ring does not have ears like what you are probably familiar with. Remove the snap ring and all will come apart. You will need a new “B”. When you get the hub off, look for a line cut into the hub. The line will be in between two ramps.

You might want to round the corner slightly of the drive plates on the trailing side, not the side that drives in the ramps

·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Mike. I saw what I thought might be a snap ring but didn't see the typical ears so I wasn't sure what it was.