Hay & Forage Forum banner
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
5,826 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at a 4 year old high bale count MF 1840 that ran ahead of a bale baron, I've been reading trying to find the wear points to look at. I've not been around the in lines much at all but interested in trying one out as we work our way towards owning a Bale Baron one day.

More interested if there are any frame cracking, gearbox issues, pickup getting tweaked type things. I'm fairly sure there's not a multi luber on the MF's as well so check for knotter wear. Assuming the stuffer gets sloppy first too as I see recent stuffer work in a lot of big square baler ads.

My background is in JD 336/348 and also old MF224/228 balers, have torn most parts of them apart but never touched an inline.

·
Hay Something
1,554 Posts
My experience is with the Hesston 4590's which I believe to be very similar the 1840. I was using a 336 prior to getting the Hesston as well. It's still here but may get retired completely this year.

I'm not aware of any inherent frame or gearbox issues. The pickup heads are built very solid, and would not have any issues in most normal haying conditions, but they can get tweaked if someone straddles a rock to the point of taking weight off of one or both wheels. Check that the pickup moves freely downward when it is lowered (either hydraulically or manually). If it binds at all and needs help to lower all the way down, that would be an indication that the head is tweaked.

Otherwise, in terms of looking for excessive wear, take a close look at the plunger rails, plunger bearings, and knives. Also look at chains and sprockets. All maintenance items which can easily be addressed, but it would be nice to know what you are in for up front before making a purchase.

·
5,826 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·