Hay & Forage Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Folks - My baler needles have been occasionally sticking, breaking the shear pin. I can usually fiddle, with helpful neighbors, and get it loose. I suspect it has something to do with the terrain; a certain angle. On inspection I can see a little divot out of each one at the same latitude. Wondering if maybe there's some kind of bushing that could be worn, allowing for play? Also thinking of smoothing them out a bit in case they now contribute to whatever is going on. I know it would have to be subtle and equal. Not sure if they're cause or effect!
I am a newbie to haying, only my 4th year, but have some knowledgeable people around. Any hints? Kath E. in Maine

Attachments

·
Registered
4,857 Posts
I think the divot you referred to in your photo will not affect baler performance or ability to complete tying cycle. I'm scratching my head trying to think what caused the divots. Technically the ends of needles if adjusted incorrectly can contact knotter frame/components but that far from end of needle. I suggest to check plunger head pitman pin(item 9) to be sure it's secured as designed although unsecure pitman pin should put divot on opposite side of needle. I also suggest to check needle brake(item 25) to be sure needle frame doesn't move too easily when knotter begins tying process.

Attachments

·
Registered
12 Posts