• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 backcheckus

backcheckus

• Members
  • 4 posts
  • LocationBerne, NY

Posted 23 March 2021 - 10:56 PM

I'm brand new to hay farming and want to grow hay on a 6 acre field.  I'm trying to get alittle independance from buying.  I started with a field that was comletely lost to a very thick infiltration of weed.  Field was 5 feet high.  I mowed it and waited until it started to grow back and then burnt it with roundup.  There was some straglers that I uses 2-4D on.  I then ripped the field since it was clay soil followed by a deep tilling.  Got my soil samples back and the numbers are good enough for now.  I planted 50 % orchard 30% timothy rye and Kentucky blue The snow has just left us and the field since we are in upstate NY. The field currently looks like a lawn.  My question is:  when should I do the first mowing ?  Is there any rule regarding mowing hay after the first planting?  I don't need the hay at this time.  Should I let go longer than baling height be let it thicken up?  Any and allsuggestions will be appreciated. ...rookie here.

• BisonMan likes this

#2 IH 1586

IH 1586

Hay Master

• Members
  • 2013 posts
  • LocationNorthwest PA. Warren County.

Posted 24 March 2021 - 04:43 AM

You won't be baling hay until June...if the weather cooperates. Just leave it and let it grow. 

• backcheckus and BisonMan like this

#3 Hayjosh

Hayjosh

• Members
  • 996 posts
  • LocationKalamazoo, MI

Posted 24 March 2021 - 09:37 PM

You'll know when it needs mowed, because there will be 10 days of rain in the forecast. If I get first cut on Memorial Day that's golden, usually weather doesn't cooperate.

• backcheckus likes this

#4 Blancober

Blancober

• Members
  • 1 posts
  • LocationAU

Posted 09 April 2021 - 10:12 AM