New Guy looking for some Direction - Alfalfa/Hay - HayTalk - Hay & Forage Community

Photo
- - - - -

New Guy looking for some Direction

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Danno

Danno

• Members
  • 2 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Iowa

Posted 18 March 2021 - 08:00 PM

Hey all, looking for some seasoned, objective advice on what direction to head on a farm.  My dad has about 85 acres currently in row crop that he rents out.  I run about 9 head of cattle on pasture, and do a few acres of small squares on the headlands.  I got my agronomy degree, ended up in a totally different field, and feel the draw to get into farming on the side of my current full time job.  I'm trying to come up with a plan that will give me my fix, put a few bucks in my pocket, yet not eat up all my spare time (been down that road before with another business, and have 3 kids).  The current renters are aware I am wanting to do something, and have been very helpful.  I've penciled out row crop, but that doesn't leave me much to do besides planting due to equipment cost.  I've always had an interest in hay, part for doing something different here where the majority of ground is row crop, and partly because I'd like to feed my own cows, and be more in control of what I'm growing and selling.  My big sticking points seem to be time involved (my job schedule is pretty flexible), storage, and if the market is present.  I'm currently setup with a IH 656D, a 350 9' sickle bar mower, a NH super 68 baler and a NH 56 rake.  I have limited storage in a barn at my dad's, but will be putting up a 36x45 this year.  I'll list a few ideas here, let me know what you all think.  

1.) Continue adding 10-15 acres of hay and do some small squares, sell them off (I figure average 120 bales/acre @ $5/bale for alalfa/grass mix), buy the big rounds for my cows and be content