Is new equipment better by design? - Machinery - HayTalk - Hay & Forage Community

Photo
* - - - - 1 votes

Is new equipment better by design?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Edd in KY

Edd in KY

• Members
  • 139 posts
  • LocationKentucky Bluegrass horse capitol.

Posted 05 November 2020 - 01:24 PM

Haytalk has many discussions about machinery, and many times the post is about buying equipment.

Often the advice is to buy newer equipment. I am curious about the subject. Is this advice because the newer equipment actually does the task better, through design or technology improvements, or simply because the older equipment is likely to be worn out needing repairs and being less reliable.

Example: Does a new 4 rotor tedder do a better job of tedding than a similar model did when new 20 years ago? Is it more reliable by design.

Same with an 8-wheel rake?

How about a 2020 NH small square baler vs. a NH 276 when it was new?

I have no knowledge or opinion since I have never had any new hay equipment.

#2 r82230

r82230

Hay Master

• Members
  • 3754 posts
  • LocationThumb of Michigan

Posted 05 November 2020 - 01:53 PM

Well, let me start with story. 

A year or so ago i stopped at a local equipment dealership with my wifey.  As we were driving home, she commented, I'd didn't recognize any of the parts men.  Got me a thinking, either she quit having affairs with the parts guys or with newer equipment she isn't frequenting the place as much.  :lol:

AS I have gotten older, the realization of the saying 'you can spend time or money' is more meaningful.  I have less time here on Earth (as everyone else does, with each passing day), so I spend money to save me time or wrenching.  Along with making hay is quite often a timely matter.  Newer equipment allows me to do more with less tme (less break-downs).  YMMV by far.

Larry

• Vol, rjmoses, somedevildawg and 5 others like this

#3 Trillium Farm

Trillium Farm

• Members
  • 981 posts