soft core hay baler - The HayTalk Learning Center - HayTalk - Hay & Forage Community

Photo
- - - - -

soft core hay baler

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Ravenwalker

Ravenwalker

• Members
  • 6 posts
  • LocationWV

Posted 09 August 2020 - 06:49 PM

I just bought a new krone fortima 1600f fixed chamber baler with net wrap and wide pick up.  I have limited experience with hay balers but I think I would have preferred a hard core baler.  The reason I ended up with the Krone fortima is my father had 2 krone 4x4 hay balers. One was a few years old and the other a bit older but few bales through it.  I am a one man show and after doing the math I decided it would be much faster to bale, haul in and wrap 4x5 foot bales.  I think it came out to 36% bigger.  Anyway, the Krone dealer would give us the most on a trade on both balers and it made the money difference affordable. I didnt have 10g extra for anther brand  So, that is why I ended up with another Krone. I cant complain, I have a new baler.  We buy our equipment form the same dealer and they are great to work with and service is excellent.  that made a big difference as well.  

I have wrapped 4x4 soft core bales for haylage and they were just fine for feeding.  I have read that soft core are not good for haylage.  Will I have a problem stepping up to the 4x5? I wouldnt think there would be much difference. many times it is close to dry bales by the time I get everything done and baled myself.

I do Have a problem when it comes to wrapping on a inline wrapper. If the net is torn off of one side and you put on new rolls of plastic it will occasionally catch and create a problem.  They seem to be a little bigger than my neighbors 4x5 veermeer.