• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 BillVee

BillVee

• Members
  • 8 posts
  • LocationHannibal Missouri

Posted 01 August 2020 - 12:35 PM

Hello, BillVee here. I'm new to Hay Talk.

I have a JD336 baler and pull and Agway 8 bale accumulator behind. In heavy stemmed hay, timothy and brome, the bales do not always separate when they come out of the baler, there is a hay link between the bales. this creates a big problem when 2 bales go into the same chute. it requires someone to follow along and manually cut the hay linkage between the bales - big pain!! I've tried several things - knife sharpening and adjusting, baler timing, plugger extensions, and restriction plates. I've also extended knives at the top.

Does anyone have a recommendation on how to fix this??

#2 8350HiTech

8350HiTech

Hay Master

• Members
  • 5234 posts
  • LocationOrrstown, PA

Posted 01 August 2020 - 12:59 PM

What does your knife clearance measure?

#3 Tx Jim

Tx Jim

Hay Master

• Members
  • 3945 posts
  • LocationCoyote Flats,Texas

Posted 01 August 2020 - 01:24 PM

Welcome to HT

Ditto on checking clearance between plungerhead & stationary knife. It would probably also help to sharpen both knives.

• Trillium Farm likes this

#4 BillVee

BillVee

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 01 August 2020 - 03:18 PM

Checked it and adjusted it last week to about 35 thousandths or just slightly more.  I installed new knives last year.  I'm looking at where the knives come together at the top, and there is a 1/8th to 1/4 inch gap at the there.  I think that when i'm choking the baler, a bundle is pushed into this gap, the baler then ties this half of the hay wad, the second half is then pulled in the next fork cycle and becomes tied into the next bale.

#5 Tx Jim

Tx Jim

Hay Master

• Members
  • 3945 posts

Posted 01 August 2020 - 03:37 PM

There's an adjustable brg on flywheel side of plungerhead to adjust the gap on upper part of knives

• endrow likes this

#6 paoutdoorsman