• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 wdunn62

wdunn62

• Members
  • 6 posts
  • LocationLouisiana

Posted 01 August 2020 - 04:15 AM

I just recently acquired a New Holland 658 auto wrap baler. When i got it home and checked everything out and kicked the PTO on, the right side of the pickup seems to be flexing/bouncing and the left side not so much. I know the previous owner did mention something about the pickup was needing work, but I can't remember the details. My question is, are these pickups prone to having issues, is it possible for the frame to be cracked and just need to be braced and rewelded (will this even be a good option), or should i just look for a new pickup assembly? I'd like to not put thousands into a baler only worth a few thousand, but at the same time, if it needs fixed then i also want to make sure it is done right and ready to bale when i need it. 

Also, i'm new to these balers and have no experience with them. Any additional info or help with this baler would be appreciated.

#2 r82230

r82230

Hay Master

• Members
  • 3380 posts
  • LocationThumb of Michigan

Posted 01 August 2020 - 06:49 AM

When you say flexing/bouncing are you talking about when sitting still? 

If so are the teeth hitting or the bars inside hitting something?

Maybe take one or two of the guards off so you can observe what might be happening is my thought.  But wait, Mike10 or Gear could give you a much better thought(s).

Larry

#3 mike10

mike10

• Members
  • 2298 posts
  • LocationSouthern Indiana

Posted 01 August 2020 - 07:51 AM