• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Havoc

Havoc

• Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 15 July 2020 - 06:14 AM

Hello,

I have a new to me JD 530 round baler with a single twine arm that I am trying to put into service.  All of the belts are brand new and are installed as per the manual.  This is my first time using a round baler so everything is new to me.  Anyway, started making bales last night and there is one issue I am not able to figure out.  The photo shows a typical bale and most of my bales have a section of loose twine on the left side of the bale.  When I say left side, I mean the side behind the twine arm when the twine arm is in its home position (right side in the photo). Hope this makes sense.  I got out of the tractor and watched the tying process a few times and the twine arm appears to move at a consistent speed although hard to tell with the hay dust.  I checked the twine arm gears and they seem tight and are meshing well.  I went ahead and finished baling but I would like to try and resolve this issue for my next baling adventure.  I will get the baler back in the shop this weekend and take a closer look at the twine arm and gears.  Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks for your time, John.

Attached Files

#2 Tx Jim

Tx Jim

Hay Master

• Members
  • 3945 posts
  • LocationCoyote Flats,Texas

Posted 15 July 2020 - 06:54 AM

Congratulation on making a level bale of hay.   Check to be sure a hay compression rod on LH side of baler isn't bent up blocking good twine spacing.

With tail gate locked closed,hydraulically raise tension arm to the point where 3+ appears in bale size window on RH side of baler. With engine operating,pto engaged pull rope on baler RH side to engage twine arm mechanism then watch twine arm for any irregularities in travel across baler then back to home position  .

#3 Texasmark

Texasmark

Hay Master

• Members
  • 455 posts

Posted 15 July 2020 - 07:31 AM