Total Newb Question - The HayTalk Learning Center - HayTalk - Hay & Forage Community

Photo
- - - - -

Total Newb Question

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 LongNosePete

LongNosePete

• Members
  • 4 posts
  • LocationCA

Posted 24 June 2020 - 12:02 AM

Hello everyone,

First time poster, long time viewer. I have a general question regarding the hay hauling business..

Firstly, I have to ask if this is even a lucrative business plan? I am only interested in hauling and won't be farming hay myself. I absolutely don't mind and welcome the long hours of hard work, if it pays off at the end of course .Also, what general knowledge base would I need to be successful?  

Are their load boards for hay haulers? Or do the hay haulers move their own chow? 

Besides a truck and trailer, what sort of other equipment would be needed?

I am simply trying to draw a business plan and would love feedback from experienced folks here.

Thank you for any advice. It is much appreciated!!

#2 r82230

r82230

Hay Master

• Members
  • 3981 posts
  • LocationThumb of Michigan

Posted 24 June 2020 - 07:03 AM

First welcome aboard.

Second, hope you ether haven't bought any equipment or you have other ventures to use equipment in or your rich uncle just died. At least in my area.

My local ag college, publishes a custom rate chart each year, latest one shows large RB at $3.75 per loaded mile, ss bales at $2.55 per loaded mile.  You could plug in what your area has for rates to see if it fit's your business plan.  What the chart doesn't show is who is loading/unloading (especially ss bales  ;) ).