Hay & Forage Forum banner

Is Bale Density that hard on a NH BC5070

6K views 24 replies 9 participants last post by  Modirt 
#1 ·
Last year we got a BC5070. In light dry hay I have a problem with the adjustments on the bales. I have used a JD348 for years with little or no problems. The NH has 3 on the top and 3 on the bottom of the feeding fingers rod. Is it that hard. We use another 5070 with bale skiis. I have used it and things worked ok. That can't be the problem? I get tired of rebaling busted bales because one string pops off. I have been baling since 1976 and never had this kind of a problem.

#3 · (Edited by Moderator)
Does your NH baler not have side resister doors or bale case wedges similar whats offered on JD 348?
On my 5070 it has both wedges and side doors (along with hydraulic bale tension). The key might be in the fist sentence 'light hay'. The 5070 is a hay eating machine (I believe the 348 can be too). I can remember that same problem in light hay with a JD 24t, which wasn't the hay eating machine of today's world. I would suggest bigger windrow and/or slowing down the PTO, while increasing ground speed.

Larry

PS I do love my bale skiis, too. Just helps the baler make idiot bricks for certain.

Reactions: VA Haymaker
#4 ·
I'm not sure I'm getting his question correct? Is it making puff balls or breaking the string? My 575 is basically the same machine and in heavy high moisture hay i will pop a string on bale exit or as soon as it hits the wagon or ground but rare do I get a loose bale? And it is a hay eating machine! I always feed it heavy because that makes the most consistent bales. It hates light windrows and if thats all I have, I have to shift up the ground speed.

#5 ·
I'm not sure I'm getting his question correct?