• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 BLC

BLC

• Members
  • 5 posts
  • LocationMissouri

Posted 20 June 2019 - 10:27 PM

I am interested in putting up my own hay so I need to purchase the equipment to do so. I have an International Harvester 574 tractor, pto is 52 hp. with a hydraulic pump output of 11.9 gpm. I have looked at some of Vermeer products as well as Massy Ferguson balers, but am open to other options. I would like to do round bales . Also since I am just beginning/learning I would like to purchase used equipment to keep the cost down. Any advice on balers and mowers would be greatly appreciated.

#2 Palmettokat

Palmettokat

• Members
  • 900 posts
  • LocationSC, about 20 miles west of Myrtle Beach

Posted 21 June 2019 - 05:55 AM

BLC, welcome to Haytalk. My recommendations are very basic and I am in my third year and about third year of haytalk which has been major helpful to me even with great friend who does my cutting and baling.  Even with his experience with the support of haytalk have been able to bring improvements to the operation. 

On buying used equipment: do not get emotional in the process. There is no great deal you can live without. I have bought small excavator without seeing it based upon third party professional's inspection report. Have looked at used equipment and miss things myself. If buying used find dealer who is a hay equipment person (many around here will admit they are not) and will review with you your needs and their equipment. Auctions are where trash often gets dumped. Not all sold at all auctions are junk. First dealer I worked with years ago was professional and one thing he warned me about was local auctions. Funny seeing people way over paying even above new price as they get caught up in the bidding.  You need someone who can lay out each piece you need so you don't end up with rake that is way too big or small for example with the mower and or baler.