Early May small bales for horses? - The HayTalk Learning Center - HayTalk - Hay & Forage Community

Photo
- - - - -

Early May small bales for horses?

Horse spring may humidity dry

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Two mules and a dog

Two mules and a dog

• Members
  • 3 posts
  • LocationGrants Pass, Oregon

Posted 29 April 2019 - 11:29 AM

Good morning all,

I am new to haying and to this site, although I have read a lot of great informative posts on here before joining. I live in Grants Pass, Oregon and hoping to get some advice from others in my area experienced with horse quality haying in this climate. One of my fields looks like it is ready to cut now. It’s seeded primarily with orchard grass and seed heads are up and starting to open on a stand about 24-30” tall.

We have had sunny dry weather in the low 70’s this last week and the forecast is for it to continue for the next 7-10 days with temps getting into the mid to upper 70’s. Humidity mid-day forecast in the 30-40% range and 50-60% range over night. We have had frost the last couple mornings and expect it will continue for a couple days longer.

Most people around here wait until late May to start haying. That could be due to weather conditions or because most fields around here are in the river valley bottom and potential mud bogs if accessed to early. I can drive on my fields year round, so that's not a concern.

All said, is it too early for my area?

Looking forward to input.

Thanks,

Aaron

#2 Vol

Vol

Hay Master and Moderator

• Moderators
  • 15710 posts
  • LocationEast Tennessee

Posted 29 April 2019 - 05:01 PM

All said, is it too early for my area?

Looking forward to input.

Thanks,

Aaron

Doesn't sound like it is too early.....being in the eighties would be extremely helpful about getting it up quickly though.

Regards, Mike

#3 Hayjosh

Hayjosh

• Members
  • 996 posts
  • LocationKalamazoo, MI

Posted 29 April 2019 - 06:07 PM