• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jettex

jettex

• Members
  • 49 posts
  • LocationWeatherford Texas

Posted 02 November 2018 - 01:35 PM

I am looking for a round baler. Have found a couple or JD 430 locally. I am just getting started and this is all I can afford. So what do people think. Good baler or not so good. What should I look for when looking at the 2 used balers I am going to see? Are parts still avaliable? Easy to run? Any advice? I will be running it with a case/ih 1394 65 to 70 hp at PTO. 

#2 Tx Jim

Tx Jim

Hay Master

• Members
  • 4383 posts
  • LocationCoyote Flats,Texas

Posted 03 November 2018 - 07:07 AM

Although it's been many yrs & rd bales made since I owned one, JD 430 rd balers are good balers except for the fact they came with single twine arm,no surface wrap capability or bale push bar. I remember demonstrating & selling them when they were brand new back in the early 80's. With a little ingenuity dual twine arms & bale push bar could be added to a 430. If bale core starting becomes a problem one needs to weld a bead on leading edge of each rectangular bar on starter roll to give roll more grip on hay. If possible open tailgate/LOCK OPEN with valve then check inside of bale chamber for holes worn in side sheets of baler. If your referring to the 430 rd baler located in Weatherford for sale on CL I think it's too high $$$$ for it's age. How many steps can you see on the tread on the bale forming belts? 

I think the newer models with Mega-wide pick up are easier to operate & make a more level bale easier plus I prefer electronic operated wrapping over the hydraulic type such as the 430. Although IMHO a 466 Mega-wide pick up wasn't one of JD engineers shining moments as they leave a lot to be desired.

• Vol, somedevildawg and jettex like this

#3 KS John

KS John

• Members
  • 132 posts
  • LocationKS

Posted 03 November 2018 - 08:22 AM