Hay & Forage Forum banner

100+ Bushel Beans

2K views 14 replies 8 participants last post by  mlappin 
#1 ·
#2 ·
We've had beans break 70 b/a here, but usually lodging becomes a huge problem.

Ordering some crop lifters, longer season beans are going flat as a pancake, think that 13 plus inches of rain in August is playing a part in that.

#4 ·
Our beans suck, best field out of 280 acres so far averaged 43, and that was no till Liberty Link beans. Stine 22RD20.

We've been throwing around the idea of quitting beans altogether. Corn, alfalfa, oats, and maybe some peas or something. We just can't get over that 55 bushel hump. Maybe it's cuz we plant 2.2 and under maturity, but that's as late as we can get away with.

#7 ·
Definitely a yield drag on beans. I have been farming for almost 30 years and we could raise 60 bpa beans then and corn was about 125 average. Now, corn averages 175-200 depending on the farm and we still hope for 60 bpa beans.

Reactions: stack em up
#8 ·
Dad had some CorSoy 69 beans that did 65 bpa 35 years ago on 38" rows. We had a lot of water this year, and beans don't like wet feet. Brother is combining beans now, Asgrow 1733 running 49, so that's a bright spot, but that field has 9 acres drowned out too, so the average is gonna drop cross the scales.

#9 ·
Dad had some CorSoy 69 beans that did 65 bpa 35 years ago on 38" rows. We had a lot of water this year, and beans don't like wet feet. Brother is combining beans now, Asgrow 1733 running 49, so that's a bright spot, but that field has 9 acres drowned out too, so the average is gonna drop cross the scales.
I am surprised that you want to give up beans. My neighbors say that about corn. Location^3!

#10 ·