• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 fastline

fastline

• Members
  • 141 posts
  • LocationKS

Posted 13 June 2013 - 01:26 AM

The obvious paths for a haybine on a square property is pretty much cutting in a spiral.  However, when raking, it is my understanding that V rakes don't do well in the corners so keep them running straight. 

I am curious how you guys mow and rake typically with a haybine?

#2 blainalbin

blainalbin

• Members
  • 14 posts
  • LocationCaledonia, Ontario, Canada

Posted 13 June 2013 - 05:51 AM

I'm fairly new to the hay business so I'm still learning the best way to attack cutting and raking.  I have small, odd shaped fields so I always do the spiral.  Some neighbours of mine who have bigger fields and making small squares will do 3 or 4 rounds around the outside.  Then rake and bale that.  Then the interior part they will cut in straight rows.  Their fields are big enough that those first 3 or 4 rows amounts to enough for them to do that. My fields are so small that I want to cut the whole thing in one shot.  I'm also making round bales which is quicker than making small squares.

I find raking to have been the trickiest art.  I have a small rotary rake that you have to raise and lower by hand.  I seem to try to rake the hay into straight rows instead of the spiral.  Straight rows seem to be easier for me to bale with my round baler.  I will usually rake 2 windrows into one unless there's a lot of hay.

#3 JD3430

JD3430

Alleged hay master

• Members
  • 4,853 posts
  • LocationPA & DE

Posted 13 June 2013 - 06:25 AM

I'm right there with you. When I cut or rake, I'm always thinking "will my tractor and baler be able to make this turn without trouble?"
I usually make a racetrack around the outside, then shoot for long lines inside since once the headlands are baled up, there's room to turn around.

#4 fastline

fastline

• Members
  • 141 posts
  • LocationKS

Posted 13 June 2013 - 09:16 AM