16 replies to this topic

#1 JD3430

JD3430

Alleged hay master

• Members
  • 7,255 posts
  • LocationPA & DE

Posted 19 July 2012 - 08:54 PM

Looking at buying a Pequea 710 tedder. Don't really like my Tonutti that much.
My tonutti is a rotary star type while the pequea is more like rotating drum. It looks like the Pequea would "fling" the hay up in the air better than a star type tedder.
Anyone have experience with the Pequea?

#2 DYNOBOB

DYNOBOB

• Members
  • 30 posts
  • LocationCincinnati, OH

Posted 19 July 2012 - 09:12 PM

Let me start by saying I have no experience w/ any other type of tedder... I've had my 710 for 8 yrs and like it. It seems fairly gentle on the clover and if I have to put a bunch of windrows together w/ the 256 it un-ropes them nicely. It does fluff it up pretty good but the stuff on the bottom tends to stay on the bottom. They're cheap, mechanically simple, and you can buy replacement teeth at TSC. :)

• JD3430 and Pequea like this

#3 JD3430

JD3430

Alleged hay master

• Members
  • 7,255 posts
  • LocationPA & DE

Posted 19 July 2012 - 09:16 PM

Do they really throw the hay up high in the air to help it dry down?

#4 mlappin

mlappin

Hay Master and Moderator

• Moderators
  • 8,156 posts
  • LocationNorth Liberty, Northern Indiana

Posted 19 July 2012 - 10:37 PM

You're looking at a "fluffer" type, they were all the rage here for a little bit then lost popularity as if you really need a tedder, then you need to spread it out as well as fluffing it up, a fluffer won't do that while a rotary type will.
  • JD3430 likes this

#5 DYNOBOB

DYNOBOB

• Members
  • 30 posts
  • LocationCincinnati, OH

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:17 AM