• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 jd4230ps

jd4230ps

• Members
  • 32 posts
  • LocationNorth Texas

Posted 20 March 2012 - 11:18 PM

I have never used a preservative.before. I custom bale 4K to 5K round bales each year 99 % is bermuda. This year I have 150 acres wheat hay to bale. This time of year here (north Texas)it is almost impossible to get hay baled before it is rained on. Does preservative require special equipment to apply? Cost of applicator? Some posts I have read here say some preservatives are corrosive. Don't want to put anything in my baler that would do any damage. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

#2 Josh in WNY

Josh in WNY

• Members
  • 388 posts
  • LocationGowanda, NY

Posted 21 March 2012 - 08:12 AM

jd4230ps, I am by no means an expert when it comes to preservatives, but hopefully I can answer a few of your questions.

First off, all the preservatives that I have seen do require special equipment to apply, usually on the baler. The one that I picked up a couple years ago was a Harvest Tech application system for a JD small square baler (but all the liquid applicators are similar in how they work). There is a tank which holds the solution you are using, a pump which pressurizes the liquid and a nozzle system of some sort that sprays the preservative on the hay as it moves through the pick-up of the baler. Other things that can be added in are moisture sensors to tell how much to apply and automatic controllers which will change the amount of preservative applied depending on the moisture of the hay.