questions about a hesston 5585 round baler

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 jback

jback

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 November 2011 - 04:45 PM

was wonderin about a hesston 5585 are they good or bad im currently square baling and have been lookin at hay rollers.All i bale is dry grass hay no silage. Are these good rollers what are somethings to watch out for, are they simple to work on. I dont have a big operation im just a hobby farmer with less than 15 acres. thanks

#2 RockmartGA

RockmartGA

Hay Master

• Members
  • 490 posts
  • LocationNorthwest Georgia

Posted 16 November 2011 - 06:04 PM

Does Hesston make a good baler? Yes.

However, unless I am mistaken, I think the 5585 rolls a 5x6 bale and as such, might be more baler than you need for small acreage farm. Also, since it is a larger baler, do you have a tractor with the horsepower to run it (~70hp or larger).

The 5585 is a mid-1980's vintage baler and as such, will have the usual issues associated with 30 year old equipment. My main concern would be the condition of the belts.

#3 Nitram

Nitram

Hay Master

• Members
  • 1,223 posts
  • LocationMarion Kansas

Posted 16 November 2011 - 07:57 PM

" will have the usual issues associated with 30 year old equipment. My main concern would be the condition of the belts. "

not to mention the bearings sprockets chains and check the pickup teeth...Hesston does make a good baler and they seem to last well. easy to work on is a misnomer yes they are simple but at that age getting things apart will try your patience some. I have a back up 5800 rounder that i learned to bale with and is a good machine that has had a hard life but will make a bale that the cows will eat. I think you will enjoy the less labor intensive baling that a round baler provides if your not looking to ship your hay long distances good luck and happy haying

#4 jback

jback

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 November 2011 - 09:35 PM

Does Hesston make a good baler? Yes.