How to best redeck a hay wagon

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Rooster Ridge Farms

Rooster Ridge Farms

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 09 January 2011 - 09:32 AM

Im redecking 3 hay wagons this spring. Again Im new to all this. Ive been been told to use 2x8 on top but some friends say hold them tight together with no spacing and others say space them 1.5 inches apart. any suggestions out there? Im also wanting the lowest price idea with out wishing later I would have built them stronger. thanks
  • downtownjr likes this

#2 rjmoses

rjmoses

Hay Master

• Members
  • 2,211 posts
  • LocationNear St Louis

Posted 09 January 2011 - 10:04 AM

Here's what I was taught by my late uncle who was a carpenter: it depends!

If the wood is going to be kept or used inside in a shed, out of the weather, then the boards can be tight together. If kept outside, put a gap between the boards to allow water to drain through and air to dry them out. I was taught to use 8 or 10 penny nails between the boards to get the gap right. Another trick I was taught was to give them a coat of primer on the ends, sides and bottoms before putting them down.

These techniques were for any wood used outside.

I've been using the primer trick for wood fence posts and for the floor in a horse trailer--seems to help a lot--even for pressure treated wood. (Pressure treated wood nowadays just doesn't seem to have the same staying power that it use to.)

Hope this helps.

Ralph
  • downtownjr, Dolphin and Rooster Ridge Farms like this

#3 Mike120

Mike120

Hay Master

• Members
  • 1,582 posts
  • LocationHockley, TX

Posted 09 January 2011 - 10:21 AM

I agree with Ralph but wanted to make a point about pressure treated wood. If you use it make sure you use galvanized hardware and put a good coat of paint on the wagon steel. Pressure treated wood will eat bare steel. Stainless is better but more expensive.
  • downtownjr, Dolphin and Rooster Ridge Farms like this

#4 mlappin

mlappin