How to get started?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 MWest

MWest

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 July 2010 - 09:45 PM

I am currently going to college for crop and soil science's and I am wanting to get into custom baling this next summer to both help pay for college and to possibly be part of my future career in agriculture, I realize some of my questions may be hard to answer and the answers may vary, but any advice would be appreciated.

1.what would be the best way for me to start custom baling?

2. I will be saving up to buy my equipment before next summer, Ive been looking at the prices of equipment and since I am a college student and have limited resources I will be buying well used equipment, I know from baling for farmers that well used equipment equals trouble but I have to start somewhere and I plan on paying for everything with cash so I won't be in debt starting out.. Do you think this would be ok for the first couple years untill I have the resources to buy new equipment?

3.What other cost would I expect besides equipment, upkeep, and fuel?

I know theres other things I probably should know so if anyone has any thoughts or sujestions I appreciate your help...thanks.

#2 IAhaymakr

IAhaymakr

IAhaymakr

• Members
  • 290 posts

Posted 12 July 2010 - 07:05 AM

Are you planning to start round baling or square baling? I'll assume round baling, and suggest that it might be difficult. Around here there isn't as much demand as there once was because most of the big farmers have thier own machine. The work that is left is mostly rough crap like ditches and pastures, where it is tough to get much volume in a day. Here, corn residue harvest is where the money is, but by then you will be back in school.