11 replies to this topic

#1 farmboy9510

farmboy9510

• Members
  • 107 posts
  • LocationAmherstburg Ontario Canada

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:57 AM

Hi Everyone

I have a question that I would like to get some imput on. This hay season I have a new job that requires me to start around 5:30am and I get off work around 2:30pm. My plan is to cut hay rate after work but I was wondering when the best time to ted it out would be. Would it be ok to spread it out rate after I cut it the same day or should I wait till after work the next day. The tedder is a double basket kuhn.

Thanks guys im new to using this style of tedder so any help is greatly appreciated.

Alex

#2 wheatridgefarmMD

wheatridgefarmMD

• Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 22 May 2010 - 08:15 AM

I usually ted immediately after I cut to get maximum drying time and exposure

BE

#3 Mike120

Mike120

Hay Master

• Members
  • 1,582 posts
  • LocationHockley, TX

Posted 22 May 2010 - 08:36 AM

I'm assuming that you must be up north. I rarely need to tedd, I'll usually rake it the next day and bale it on the third day. I'm doing grass.

#4 farmboy9510

farmboy9510

• Members
  • 107 posts

Posted 22 May 2010 - 11:04 AM

Thanks guys

Sorry i did not mention I work with straight alfalfa.

Also live in south western Ontario

#5 retcol

retcol

• Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 22 May 2010 - 04:02 PM

When I was small square baling alfalfa, I would cut one day, ted the next and bale the third day

#6 Rodney R

Rodney R

Hay Master

• Members
  • 763 posts
  • LocationHamburg, PA

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:39 PM