- - - - -

Hoeschler vs Kuhns vs Other Accumulators

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 nprranch

nprranch

• Members
  • 38 posts
  • LocationEast Central Illinois (Charleston)

Posted 24 February 2010 - 07:32 PM

Thanks to all that responded to my post about the JD100 3x3 baler. I think the cons have beaten the pros. My back up option was to go with an accumulator and grapple, but I have zero experience with these items also. Any opinions out there on which one is the best for a smaller operation. My hay racks and gooseneck trailer are all 8ft wide which might make a difference in which is the best for my situation. I do have a CaseIH dealer near by that deals with the Hoeschlers, but by what I've been reading I think the Kuhns look very good and maybe more trouble free (since there are no hydraulics involved). Any input pros or cons or info about other good manufacturers will be greatly appreciated.

#2 Mike120

Mike120

Hay Master

• Members
  • 1,551 posts
  • LocationHockley, TX

Posted 24 February 2010 - 08:04 PM

I was going with a Kuhns until I found a very good deal on the Hoelscher. The only thing I didn't like about the Kuhns was the bale track going to the top of the unit. I've never heard anyone complain about it though and everyone who has one seems to like them.

I'm very happy with the Hoelscher. It probably took me 30 minutes to attach it to the baler and maybe 10 minutes of tinkering with it before I went out to bale. It never skipped a beat and I don't even know it's back there. The only issue I ran into was that I needed to increase the space between windrows to keep the bundle from getting in the way.

I also like stacking with the grapple. It's given me a lot more flexibility than I had with my old stacker wagon and it's a whole lot less exciting.
  • nprranch likes this

#3 Hayguy

Hayguy

Hay Master

• Members
  • 154 posts
  • LocationFitchburg,Wisconsin

Posted 24 February 2010 - 10:55 PM