lacing belts

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 CaptainQ

CaptainQ

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 February 2010 - 09:33 AM

I am new to round baling and have purchased a Hesston R540 in really nice shape, but it appears that a few of the belts may need to be relaced or are close to needing it. I have read in my manual that all belts must be within two inches of the same length ( I believe that is what it said, I can look again) I have the chevron belts 7in. and they have the zipper lacing not the titan. My question is short of taking all the belts out, which looks like a huge job, how do I know if they have been relaced before so that if I need to relace a few I don't end up with a few too short. And if they need relacing do I buy the tool and do it myself or take the belts to someone to have it done, or can they do it on the machine? Any additional tips on this or the use of the machine would be greatly appreciated. It is a 2000 model R540 Hesston 4x4 bale electric tie no gathering wheels or kicker, we mainly bale as a hobby, aprox. 1000 squares with a J.D.336 and just got the Hesston to reduce labor.

#2 swmnhay

swmnhay

Hay Master and Moderator

• Moderators
  • 4,196 posts
  • LocationReading,Mn

Posted 02 February 2010 - 10:19 AM

If you have to replace a couple belts you may find others are to short if splices have been replaced.To do it rite and as long as you are replacing a couple I would take them all out and measure them to make sure.It would be a good time to replace all the splices and pins.You can add a piece of belt to old belt to lengthen it.Belts should be the same type and ply if you replace some of them.

I'm looking in my Shoup book they sell replacment belts and splicers.They have a lever lacer that you can do in the field.Shoup Manufacturing Company Call them for a catolog it has way more than the online version.
  • downtownjr likes this

#3 CaptainQ

CaptainQ

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 February 2010 - 02:27 PM