Protein Loss in Hay Question

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 dugswife

dugswife

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 March 2009 - 10:07 PM

I am just learning about hay. I live in the Dallas Area and we have coastal bermuda here. We feed horses. I was wondering if someone could educate me on protein loss in hay. How much does it lose and how quickly? Does it keep on losing protein until it has none and if so how long does that take? For instance we bought some 2007 hay last month that was 5th place in the state fair in 07....but after a year is it so low in protein that it's not any good any more? We were told hay that was several years old was still good as long as it had been kept in a barn. We buy both round and square bales.

I would appreciate an education on this - the internet produces conflicting articles.

Thanks!

#2 CantonHayGuy

CantonHayGuy

• Members
  • 95 posts

Posted 12 March 2009 - 11:02 PM

I sure hope someone can give you some experienced advice on this. I haven't been putting up hay long enough to give you any info, but I might suggest this: You could talk to your local Ag Extension Office to find out where you can send samples of your hay to be tested. You could do this at whatever frequency you wanted and make your own assessment. I'm wondering if, since your hay was judged at a state fair, there would be a way to get the amount of protein it contained at the time of the fair.

#3 swmnhay

swmnhay

Hay Master and Moderator

• Moderators
  • 4,129 posts
  • LocationReading,Mn

Posted 13 March 2009 - 09:05 PM